DHCC Webinar: Nutraceuticals for Lowering LDL-Cholesterol: A Review of the Evidence

When:  Sep 15, 2020 from 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM (PT)
Join us for our upcoming DHCC webinar!

September 15, 2020 @ 11 am PT/ 12 pm MT/ 1 pm CT/ 2 pm ET

Speaker: Geeta Sikand, MA, RDN, FAND, CDE, CLS, FNLA

The global nutraceutical market (including both functional foods and dietary supplements) is expected to reach $578.23 billion by 2025, and a search for “cholesterol-lowering supplements” on an online shopping site yields over 600 results. Patients are seeking out natural methods of treating hypercholesterolemia, and dietitians must be equipped to support them with evidence-based recommendations. While not intended to replace pharmacological therapy, many nutraceuticals can help achieve treatment targets, particularly in patients with mild to moderate lipid elevations, statin-intolerant patients, and patients on pharmacological treatment but not quite at goal. Thiswebinar will review the evidence behind common LDL-lowering nutraceuticals, focusing on those with well-designed studies to demonstrate their efficacy. Upon completion, you will be able to identify nutraceuticals to consider, either alone or in conjunction with pharmaceuticals, in the treatment of hypercholesterolemia, along with dosing information, possible side effects, and anticipated LDL-C improvements.

REGISTER HERE

We anticipate this webinar will be approved for 1 hour CPEU. ​

Location

Online Instructions:
Url: http://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/3541779149953479435
Login: Register by clicking the link above.